Mike McClenahan Touchdown!

( Alternate title: *Support Your Local Pastor* )

Each of us has our own idea of what we like to hear in a speaker. To be fair, Mike McClenahan is one of my favorite traditional church preachers. I’m not just saying that because he’s my senior pastor. Once in a great while I will hear what I consider a bad sermon, but NEVER from Mike.

In fact, about two or three times a year I hear a sermon from him to which I consider the only appropriate response to be for us to leave the church in worshipful silence. (But…that’s not how the Presbyterian church does things.)

In my fantasy backyard I have a deluxe hammock and re-listen to Mike’s sermon while relaxing there. This week I’ll listen to yesterday’s sermon at home sans hammock.

If you’re a real stickler you may disagree with me. You might even say you have to go to baseball for a proper metaphor. IF we switch to baseball instead of football I would say this sermon is at least a triple, but I believe it would be more fair to call it a home run, maybe even a grand slam.

However, since I’m the one writing I believe we’ll just stick with touchdown. There definitely will be more touchdowns to come. One great thing about preachers is they almost all get better as the years go by. With football players they might get better for a while, but eventually they just get older as Charger (and Green Bay and all other) fans are well aware.

While we all get older, Mike McClenahan is getting better every year. You’re welcome to come see him preach at Solana Beach Presbyterian Church at 8:30 or 10:15 on Sundays. As for me, I’ve seen him preach for about a decade and a half and I hope get to hear Mike preach until he’s real old, like 105 or 110. That would be cool.

Who needs retirement anyway?

SBPC Sermon January 15, 2017

Leave a Reply

