You Are The Salt Of The Earth

Today my wife was having leftovers for lunch and I couldn’t tell exactly what was on her plate.

“What is it?” I asked.

“Steak!” she said.

“I can’t tell because it looks like it has a coating on it. What’s the coating?”

“Salt!”

We both laughed. My wife has always enjoyed salt much more than me. I told her that I need to look up verses about salt and she said, “You are the salt of the earth.”

So here we are.

What does it mean? Good question.

You can check out BibleHub.com for an explanation from commentaries.

You can search Google to find out.

I’ve even included Matthew 5:13-16 from The Message and the New International Version (NIV).

***
Salt and Light
“Let me tell you why you are here. You’re here to be salt-seasoning that brings out the God-flavors of this earth. If you lose your saltiness, how will people taste godliness? You’ve lost your usefulness and will end up in the garbage.

“Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.
Matthew 5:13-16 The Message (MSG)
***
Salt and Light
“You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.

“You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.
Matthew 5:13-16 New International Version (NIV)
***

Jesus also uses light as a metaphor here.

I’m not an expert. I’m not ordained. I’m a follower of Jesus.

It seems to me that Jesus wants his disciples (including you and me) to continue to have an impact because of their faith and their character (and likely their power and glory – that is – the power of God and the glory of God in them through the Holy Spirit).

What do YOU think?

I know I’m not covering it all here. If you have Holy Spirit in you, you can ask. AND, you can check with others who do.

I’ll leave you with some sweet music from a man who was the salt of the earth and the light of the world until he went home to God, Andrae Crouch. Last night I felt God nudge me to get up and write down a dream a little before two in the morning and when I searched on Youtube, there was Andrae Crouch and this song.

You are the salt of the earth. (And the light of the world!)

God bless you!

2 thoughts on “You Are The Salt Of The Earth

Leave a comment