I Just Wrote 1500 Words!

Not in this blog post!

Were you worried? 😉

This morning I felt the Lord nudge me to get up. It was just before 5:30.

Soon I realized that he wanted me to write. He knows my desires.

Some time in the last 20 years I decided that my favorite verse is Psalm 37:4. (By the way, I feel that if it’s your favorite, you ought to have it memorized, right? So, if it’s not memorized, it naturally follows that it’s not your favorite.)

Here it is:

Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.

I was very happy when I read those words years ago. (Maybe that’s another way to judge your favorite verse as well!)

I believe He was showing me that one of my assumptions was incorrect.

What is that assumption?

That I can’t write unless it’s really quiet or some soft instrumental music is playing AND THERE ARE NO INTERRUPTIONS.

If you’re like me then at least part of the time you like free stuff. When we got Kindle I checked out some of the free book titles and read “Sydney Smith” by George William Erskine Russell in the fall of 2014. Wikipedia says that Sydney Smith was an English wit, writer and Anglican cleric. He was born in the 18th century. Here are a couple Sydney Smith quotes I found on Google this morning:

It is the greatest of all mistakes to do nothing because you can only do little – do what you can.

A great deal of talent is lost to the world for the want of a little courage.

Sydney Smith used to write at a little desk in the same room while his wife was having sometimes lively conversations with groups of women with whom she socialized (and ministered?). I was amazed at the clergyman’s ability and I don’t think I’m quite there yet, BUT this morning I got up and wrote while helping my wife get ready for school a little and having some conversation with her at various times.

Some of you might be wondering why I think this is a big deal.

Well, for starters I wrote 1500 words in under 90 minutes!

For me to do that with distractions from wife, life, doggies and computer glitches is well, a miracle.

WriteNonFictionNow.com says that the average length of a nonfiction book is 50,000 words. I sort of knew this but now that I’ve written so many words in an hour an a half I can see light at the end of the tunnel!

Even if I were only to write 1500 words once every day that means 33-34 days!

Why do I believe this has happened for me?

I’ve been worshiping God a lot more frequently since April, but especially since July. Last night was probably night 52 for me at The Fire & Glory Outpouring and I’ve been worshiping God at home more. Of course, we attend regular worship services at our home church, Solana Beach Presbyterian (Solana Pres).

Put simply – more intimacy with God. If you prefer, I’ll say it this way – more intimacy with Holy Spirit.

As I learn to listen for HIS still, small voice I become more practiced at hearing him. I believe the bible talks about this.

Here’s John 10: 27-28

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me:

And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.

I’m not going to attempt to unpack these verses right now, but I do find them comforting and challenging.

I want to hear His voice and I’m (very) regularly seeking intimacy with Him.

Maybe it’s a lot like what I told our son about soccer when he was growing up.

When you practice and keep practicing, you get better at it.

I urge you: Go, and do likewise!

Leave a Reply

