What About These Changes?

As long as I can remember I have believed in encouragement. It may sound simplistic because who truly believes we shouldn’t encourage people? And yet, I have heard people sometimes say half-jokingly “Don’t encourage him.” That might be said by a wife about her husband’s jokes and general sense of humor that she doesn’t find very funny. My wife says I don’t have ANY experience with that. Riiight.

When I took a class on understanding your spiritual gifts at Solana Beach Pres a few years ago I was gladdened to see that encouragement was one of my gifts. I believe I have enjoyed encouraging people basically all my life. That’s why I added the line “Encouraging You Since 1963” to the header on this blog. I was born February 28, 1963 at Tri-City Hospital in Oceanside, California.

Encinitas, California is where I grew to be a teenager and that’s the place I consider my hometown. I’m still trying to figure out how to get one of those oval-like world maps with Encinitas at the very center. (That’s how big a deal Encinitas feels to me.) I love the Pacific Ocean and being close to the water and that’s why I chose the ocean graphic for Your Support Matters.

Conversation with the right friend about matters of faith is also something I find encouraging. I had one of those conversations with Mike Winter at Mr. Taco across from Cal State San Marcos the other day. I shared about some of the experiences I’ve been sharing on this blog and he gave me an account of a summer camp years ago that changed his thinking a little about how we see God.

This is not the first time I’ve been moved by a Mike Winter story from his life. If he had a comic book it might be titled “Michael Winter’s Real Life Adventures In Faith”. I didn’t plan to write this (unless you consider thinking 5 minutes ahead to be planning), I just really felt encouraged by our conversation. It reminded me why we share about what’s going on in our life with our friends. Maybe God will come up and hopefully we’ll be mutually encouraged through what we recount. Mike doesn’t know I’m writing this and I’m not sure what he’ll think. My guess is that mostly he’ll be humble and surprised about it.

A few things in my life I’ve discovered because of the internet and Mike is one of them. I guess it’s probably three or four years ago that I found a site that let me know he liked to network. I’m glad our relationship is growing beyond simply networking, though he’s excellent at it.

Real estate is also something he excels at. Almost always I learn more whenever we talk for any length of time. If real estate were music, I believe real estate experts would say that Mike Winter has “chops”, which only come with experience. Experience saves a lot of headaches and it can save time and money in the long run. I encourage you to experience Mike’s “chops” firsthand.

Here is Michael Winter’s profile on Zillow.

Here’s something else that I’ve never done before on this blog – a dedication.

When I was thinking about what you told me, tears welled up in my eyes and this song came to mind.

God Bless You!

One thought on “What About These Changes?

Leave a Reply

