He’s Got The Whole World In His Hands

What’s going on?

Recently I’ve been made aware of a change taking place that could be monumental for the U.S. and possibly the world. September 30 (or October 1?) is possibly an auspicious day for currencies, especially the dollar, based on decisions at the IMF (International Monetary Fund). If you want to find out more, research special drawing rights or SDR.

Some people think that the value of the dollar will fall drastically and quickly and we will have great inflation in the United States. A very smart man I know in Arizona seems to think this way.

Earlier today I bought a book on Kindle by Harry Dent that argues the opposite. Dent believes we will enter a period of strong deflation soon or that the deflationary period we’re in (which is disguised by all the dollars being printed during “quantitative easing”) will become even more deflationary.

I can’t explain everything I think I know in a short post and when you think about it, even the last two paragraphs are simply my understanding of the different sources (on opposite sides of the monetary/economic thought fence). As I write this I’m not sure who is correct, though I suspect Dent is closer to the truth.

Even the experts that the world looks to for wisdom can be very wrong on something that seems small but turns out to be enormous. My Arizona genius showed me this video of Alan Greenspan, the former chairman of the Federal Reserve Bank, admitting that his view of economic reality was wrong and he was unsure why. I highly recommend watching it. It’s less than 7 minutes long and I guess you could say it’s kind of frightening or, at the very least, stunning to watch the economic “GURU” admit that he was mistaken about derivatives and the size of their consequences a la the Great Recession.

I’m not going to offer investment strategies, but I do know that no matter what happens in the future, we can rely on God. I believe I’m learning to do more of that. How do we do that?

I believe a big part of it is spending time with God in actual worship. My wife and I have spent more hours in worship in recent months than we ever have in any similar period of time. Sometimes it’s the two of us. More often it’s a worship service at the Fire & Glory Outpouring or alone with God. For my wife and me, that also includes worship services at Solana Beach Presbyterian Church.

No matter what your political or economic views, spending time truly worshiping God yields benefits. I was worried yesterday after talking to Mr. Arizona Libertarian. My wife came home and prayed over me and I took a nap and definitely felt calmer afterwards.

I know it can be difficult to set aside time, but it must be done. Spend more time with God in prayer and listening. Worship God without any distractions.

It’s not that different than what I told our son, Stuart, about soccer when he was growing up. Practice and you’ll get better at it. If you’ve seen the littlest kids on the field, you’ve seen how they play soccer like a big amoeba running together after the ball. As time passed our little guy who ran all over the field without much strategy beyond following the ball with his whole team became an excellent defender and strategic team player. You get better with practice at soccer or worship or prayer or poker or anything else.

Want more peace in times of turmoil?

Practice really connecting with God and you’ll find it easier to keep in mind the big picture.

God Bless You.

Here’s the only Gospel song to make it to #1 on a U.S. pop singles chart to help you remember the big(gest) picture:

Leave a Reply

